Book Love

At one time, I was a voracious reader. I’d read three books a week, just devouring them at bed time and on my commute. Nowadays, I rarely read a book before bed, instead caught up in emails and twitter and the like. But recently, I’ve been trying to rekindle (no pun intended) my love of reading.

I am a total nerd when it comes to books about the Tudor period. I think I’ve read every single one of Philippa Gregory’s historical novels, along with plenty more about that era. I have a few more of Alison Weir’s to get through and I’m currently ploughing my way through Wolf Hall, though I don’t like it much. I know pretty much every single breath that was taken during Henry VIII’s reign but I still find it fascinating.

I’m also really into reading anything, fact or fiction, about the Victorians. I find it really mindblowing that in 100 years, the world changed so much and that was a really pivotal time, especially in social history. If I had gone to university and done a degree, which I never have, I’d probably have done it on a topic related to the Victorians.

Another type of book I love to read is a good travelogue, especially ones that are also funny – e.g. Round Ireland With A Fridge and anything by Tim Moore. They’re especially good holiday reads, I find.

The book I finished most recently is The Unlikely Pilgramage Of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce.

81Wtt3FQjIS._SX342_SY299_

I don’t know why I picked it up – I didn’t like the look of the cover but something about it made me buy it on a whim in Sainsburys. I enjoyed it quite a lot, the ending was unexpected and I found it quite an emotional read.

I still have Wolf Hall to finish – I’ve been reading it for over 6 months now. I can’t not finish it but it’s really boring. And then I have Bring Up The Bodies, the sequel to read. But I think I need a break from those Tudors, so if anyone has any lighter suggestions, let me have em!

I’m blogging every day in May as part of BEDM. Find out more here.

Blog Every Day in May badge

15 thoughts on “Book Love

  1. If you like historical things I’d suggest Island Beneath the Sea by Isabel Allende – it’s set during the 1700′s in Santo Domingo and it’s both fascinating (historically) and really well written, definitely an enjoyable read. It’s not a period (or place) that I’ve read a lot about but I really, really enjoyed it! I could sit and recommend books all day long (in fact I actually do that quite a lot on my blog) but this was a recent read that I’m really trying to force on everyone! x

  2. I, too, love reading about the Tudors and the Victorian period. I am a voracious writer of the Victorian period and even in my contemporary novels I somehow manage to squeeze in things influenced by the Victorian period.

  3. I loved Harold Fry – it was an unexpected hit here – I described it as ‘nice’ which sounds really weak in hindsight but it genuinely is a nice read, in my opinion anyway!
    Wolf Hall took me bloody ages and although bits were fantastic others dragged – I’m dragging my feet when it comes to starting Bringing up the Bodies!

  4. Have you read anything by Sarah Waters? I think you’d enjoy Fingersmith, which is set in ye olden days, but is a real page-turner with it – it had me gasping aloud on the bus numerous times. Or any of her books really – they’re all great, but Fingersmith is definitely my favourite of the Victorian era ones.

    I just read Song Of Achilles recently. It was amazing – a big, sexy Greek romp and so easy to get through. I’ve been recommending it to everyone lately.

    I really liked Wolf Hall, but it did take me a long while to get into. I was fairly ignorant of the details of the Tudor era though, so I couldn’t work out who was who for a long time. I still haven’t quite summoned the brain power for the sequel…

    I’ve never read any Philippa Gregory, but always look at them in charity shops when I’m in the mood for a historical fix. Any of hers you’d particularly recommend as a good starting point?

    I just woke up from an afternoon nap. I think it shows…

  5. Harold Fry is on my ‘to read’ list! I also found Wolf Hall utterly tedious. I have a rule about leaving boring books unfinished though – if I don’t like it two chapters in, I stop. Life is too short for boring books?

  6. This BEDM has been great; I’ve found so many great book ideas. And I too am so fascinated with the Victorian era for the exact same reasons; such amazing changes in such a short space of time. I haven’t read many books set in that time, though.

  7. I still bear the emotional scars of getting through Wolf Hall. I HATED that book. Hated it hated it hated it. I’ve been told Bring Up The Bodies isn’ as irritating but I don’t think I have the mental resilience to put that to the test!

Leave a Reply

